Westward Bound

Since Melanie and I have decided to move our family to California, the most common question that I’ve been asked is “Why?”.  It’s a good question.  I can’t give one of the usual answers like “My job is taking me there” or “To get closer to family”.  The reason that we’ve decided to move is simply because we have committed to living a life of consciousness, exploration, and fulfillment.  A life where anything that we can dream of is possible.  We intend to lead by example for our children in that respect.  We’ve decided not to live in fear and we are refusing to leave any “what if’s”.  It would be easy for us to make up a million reasons why we shouldn’t go, but in reality, those would just be excuses.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that if you don’t move, you’re living in fear.  I’m a big advocate of living wherever and however you want to live.  But live in that place because you want to live there, not because you feel like you “should”.  This is exactly where we found ourselves.

Melanie grew up dreaming of living in San Diego.  My path almost took me to California once before.  Luckily life took a 13 year detour to Chicago.   In that time, I’ve married the woman of my dreams, started a successful company, made some life long friends, had two amazing children, and traveled the world.  Now it’s finally time to get back on my original path which was pulling me to the west coast. To start the journey off right, I’ll be making a cross country road trip with my Dad.  This is all a once in a lifetime opportunity that I won’t let pass.

Since deciding to move, it has been a whirlwind of planning and a rollercoaster of emotions.  On the morning of my departure from Sweet Home Chicago, I can tell  you this, I’m more invigorated than I’ve been in years.  I’m truly excited about life.  We’ve realized that we have the potential to create anything we want.  We are embarking on an adventure into the unknown, but isn’t that life?  Doesn’t that happen wether we choose to or not?  Do we really know what tomorrow brings?  Wether it is where you live, who you are with, or what you do, choose with intention. I encourage you to give it a shot. Consciously choose your next step in life, whatever that means for you, and don’t be afraid to step into the unknown.

Leave a Reply

